Several bank heads resign, some likely to challenge Finance Ministry order

March, 28, 2015

Following the resignations of Dr. Rani Jayamaha as Chairperson of Hatton National Bank and Sunil Wijesinha as National Development Bank PLC Chairman and the likelihood of more such resignations, very reliable sources indicated that the Finance Ministry has notified several private commercial bank heads who had been appointed to represent government owned shares to step down.

The government owns nearly 28 per cent of shares in the Hatton National Bank and 33 per cent in the National Development Bank.